Four Question Friday

The Kensington marketing department asks new authors to fill out a handy-dandy questionnaire. Strangely, I’m stumped on some of the questions. Do they want me to answer seriously? Am I supposed to answer as a reader might expect a bad-ass Paranormal Romance Author to respond? Or should I give the real scoop on me, the person behind the author facade. I guess it comes back to this: is Kira Brady a brand or a person? And if she’s a person, is she me, or a character I get to make up?

Today’s four question are taken from the marketing sheet, and I doubt they are top secret.

Question 1: What is your writing routine?

Author Kira: After an hour of yoga and a visit with my masseuse to get my body and brain in alignment, I sit down to my typewriter ready to channel the muse. Pedro, my cabana boy, mixes me a Kraken sidecar before joining the bluegrass punk band that serenades my writing sessions. I slip the IV into my vein and attach the end of the tube to the typewriter ink cartridge. There is no ink but blood. Words flow effortlessly from my fingertips to the blank page, almost as if imagined into being by a divine hand. The blood dries black on the bleached paper, belying its heavenly origins; These words were crafted in a darker place. By the time the fiddle crescendo winds down, five thousand words grace the page. I am spent. Weakly, I motion for Pedro to release me from the machine. He slips the iv out and sweeps me up into his arms. Carrying me out the double french doors into the fresh island breeze, he gently lays me in a hammock beneath the coconut fronds. I rock gently to sleep as the waves of creativity wash upon the shores of hard work, and dream of writing the next scene.

Real me: I put the baby down for a nap, make some tea, sit at my computer, and turn on Write or Die. If I’m lucky, the baby will sleep for an hour.

Question 2: What music are you really into these days?

Author Kira: Bluegrass punk and anything in a minor key.

Real me: Raffi.

Question 3: If you weren’t a romance novelist, what would you be?

Author Kira: Aether Mage.

Real me: Laundry Fairy.

Question 4: What do you think love at first sight is?

Author Kira: A divine spark from the universe that occurs when following one’s personal legend.

Real me: Shallow.

And a question for you, dear reader: What book would you most like to read again for the first time?

4 responses to “Four Question Friday

  1. That marketing machine is cranking along! I like that you’re handling it with such verve…and I believe the best connection with readers is made by Kira The Real Person. But I could be biased. =) Whatever you decide, could you send that Laundry Ferry my way when you’re done with her? Thank you!

    Book to re-read: To Kill a Mockingbird came to mind first

  2. Hi Kira,

    I would definitely say Kira Brady is a brand. However, you’ll have the opportunity to meet everyone at your book signings, and so forth, so it would be good if they knew what they’d be getting.

    I would keep it as real as possible, but not get into the nitty-gritty unappealing parts.

    Put the positive spin and shiny veneer on the real you. 🙂

    Just talk about the good/funny/cool stuff.

    Emily

Leave a Reply

